Proposed Slate for MPA’s 2021 Officers and Directors

In Breaking News, Bulletin, Events, Missouri Press News On

The Missouri Press Association Nominating Committee met recently, finalizing a slate of MPA officers and directors for 2021, effective Jan. 1.

The election of MPA officers and directors is scheduled during the annual MPA business meeting to be held virtually in September. More details to follow.

Here are the candidates proposed by the nominating committee:

2021 President, Liz Irwin, Missouri Lawyers Media, St. Louis; First Vice President, Roger Dillon, Shannon County Current Wave, Eminence; Second Vice President, Beth Durreman, Perry County Republic-Monitor, Perryville; Secretary, Gary Castor, Jefferson City News Tribune; and Treasurer, Ruby Bailey, Columbia Missourian.

Director for a one-year term: Jim Van Nostrand, Columbia Daily Tribune.

Director for a two-year term: Mary Wilson, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview.

Director for three-year terms: Donna Bischoff, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; and Sandy Nelson, Courier Tribune, Liberty.

Peggy Scott, Jefferson County Leader, Festus, is being nominated as the National Newspaper Association state chair.

Continuing on the MPA Board in 2021 will be directors: Bryan Jones, Versailles Leader-Statesman; Kevin Jones, St. Louis American, Hannah Spaar, The Odessan, Odessa; and Amos Bridges, Springfield News-Leader.

Trevor Vernon, Eldon Advertiser; will serve as immediate past president in 2021.

James White, Benton County Enterprise, Warsaw, is stepping down from the MPA Board in December 2020.

The nominating committee, was chaired this year by James White.

The committee members thank everyone who submitted nominations.

You may also read!

Gubernatorial forum will be broadcast, livestreamed Sept. 25

Gubernatorial forum will be broadcast, livestreamed Sept. 25 Pool photographer will take photos during event for all media Missouri


Missouri Press Association announces 2020 Hall of Fame inductees

A group of three newspaper people, which includes a former Missouri Press Association president, has been announced as the


Plans for 2020 Convention and Trade Show Canceled

Adding to the growing list of events canceled by the coronavirus pandemic, Missouri Press Association regrets to announce that


Mobile Sliding Menu