9 to Receive the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism

In Association News On

Awarded Annually Since 1930, the Medal Recognizes Lifetime or Superior Achievement

Columbia, Mo. (June 10, 2015) – Seven individuals and two media organizations will receive the prestigious Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism during a banquet on Monday, Oct. 26, on the University of Missouri campus.

Medalists are selected by the faculty of the School on the basis of lifetime or superior achievement in journalism. The Missouri School of Journalism has awarded the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism annually since 1930 to outstanding journalists, advertising and public relations practitioners, business people, institutions and media organizations from around the world. Among them are Tom Brokaw, Christiane Amanpour, Sir Winston Churchill, Gloria Steinem, Deborah Howell, David Granger and Gordon Parks.

During the day the medalists will present master classes on topics related to their areas of expertise to Missouri School of Journalism students and other guests.

Those to be honored are:

• CNN Digital, one of the world’s leading digital news brands
• Barbara Ehrenreich, author and activist
• Rea Hederman, publisher, The New York Review of Books
• Gerd Ludwig, photojournalist and documentary photographer
• Merrill Perlman, copy editor
• Bill Plante, senior White House correspondent, CBS News
• Yoani Sánchez, Cuban blogger, journalist and entrepreneur
• Lincoln Stephens, co-founder, The Marcus Graham Project
• Sports Journalism Institute, training-internship program

For more information about the 2015 Missouri Honor Medal activities, contact the Missouri School of Journalism at journalism@missouri.edu.


You may also read!

2023 Better Newspaper Contest results announced

Winners of the 2023 Missouri Press Association (MPA) Better Newspaper Contest were announced Saturday afternoon, Sept. 23, in St.


2023 Legislative Update — Missouri Legislature Returns for Veto Session

Missouri Legislature Returns for Annual Veto Session this Week in Jefferson City The House and Senate convened at noon on


Meet Missouri’s 2023 Sunshine Heroes

Sunshine Heroes provide access, interpret the law and use it for the public good Three new Sunshine Heroes will be


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu