Jones elected 2010 MPA President

In Association News On

Kevin Jones, chief operating officer of The St. Louis American, was elected 2010 president of the Missouri Press Association (MPA) on Oct. 16.

Jones, currently first vice president of MPA, will succeed Vicki Russell, associate publisher of the Columbia Daily Tribune, on Jan. 1. Russell will serve on the board of directors as past president.

MPA members elected officers during the 143rd annual MPA convention, held Oct. 15-17 in the Sheraton Sports Complex Hotel in Kansas City.

Jones also serves as The American’s advertising manager. He is an honors graduate of St. Louis University High School and the Missouri School of Journalism. He’s been with The American for 17 years.

While attending the University of Missouri, Jones worked for three newspapers at the same time: the Columbia Daily Tribune, Columbia Missourian and The Maneater.

Jones is a past president of the Missouri Advertising Managers’ Association and has received that group’s Old Pro Award. He is a member of the Advertising Club of St. Louis and the Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis.

Other officers elected at the MPA convention are: Joe May, publisher of the Mexico Ledger, first vice president; Phil Conger, publisher of the Bethany Republican-Clipper, second vice president; Walt Gilbert, Lakeway Publishers of Missouri, Louisiana, treasurer; and Steve Fairchild, publisher of the Mount Vernon Lawrence County Record, secretary.

Elected to the board of directors for three-year terms were Richard Gard, Missouri Lawyers Media; and Joe Spaar, The Odessan. Jeff Schrag, Springfield Daily Events, was re-elected MPA representative to the National Newspaper Association.

Other members of the board of directors are: Jon Rust, Rust Communications, Cape Girardeau Southeast Missourian; Dennis Warden, Gasconade County Republican, Owensville; Brad Gentry, Houston Herald; and Kate Martin, Perry County Republic-Monitor, Perryville.

Terms that will expire on Dec. 31 are Linda Geist, Monroe City Lake Gazette, treasurer; Gard as secretary; and Mark Maassen of The Kansas City Star and May, as directors.

Jack Whitaker, past president, publisher of the Hannibal Courier-Post, has completed his service on the MPA board. He will become president of the Missouri Press Service (MPS) board of directors.

MPS is the newspaper advertising placement affiliate of MPA. Its board of directors traditionally is made up of the five past presidents of MPA.

Dave Berry, vice president of Neighbor Newspapers, Bolivar, will complete his service on the MPS board on Dec. 31.

Other members of the MPS board are David Bradley, News-Press & Gazette Co., St. Joseph; Steve Oldfield, Adrian Journal; John Spaar, The Odessan; and Gary Sosniecki, former co-publisher in Vandalia.

You may also read!

mo capitol building

MPA Capitol Report 5/17/2024

MPANewsBook: Statehouse News for MPA Members This report is written by Missouri School of Journalism students for publication by MPA


Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024’s OYJs

Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024's OYJs In recognition of their commitment and excellence, two


Last Week of 2024 Session

The following is a legislative update from Clarkston Nelson, LLC concerning the Missouri General Assembly’s spring legislative session. Use


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu