MCMA Awards

In Association News On

 The Truman Index student newspaper won the Best In State Award in this year’s contest of the Missouri College Media Association. Awards were presented April 13 at the annual convention of the MCMA, held this year at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph.

Twenty-eight Missouri college and university newspapers competed in four divisions in the contest. Two-year colleges competed in one division and four-year schools in three divisions, according to circulation.

A complete list of the winners can be found on the Missouri Press Association website at Missouri Press Association administers the contest for MCMA. 

The Best In State Award was chosen from among the four newspapers that placed first in the Best Overall Newspaper category. Those papers were The University News, Saint Louis University, in Division 1; The Index in Division 2; Stephens Life, Stephens College, Division 3; and The Montage, St. Louis Community College Meramec, in Division 4.

Sweepstakes awards go to the papers in each division that received the most award points in the contest. Those winners were: Division 1, The Standard, Missouri State University; Division 2, The Journal, Webster University; Division 3, The Lance, Evangel University; Division 4, The Montage, SLCC-Meramec.

This year’s MCMA president and the convention host was Dave Hon, a student at Missouri Western and a member of the staff of The Griffon News. His adviser is Dr. Robert Bergland. During the election at the convention, members elected Jordan Larimore of Missouri Southern State University to succeed Hon.

Megan Gates of Missouri State succeeds Andrea Sisney of Webster as vice president. Michelle McIntosh, SLCC-Forest Park, succeeds Janaca Scherer of the University of Missouri, St. Louis, as secretary.

Hon was chosen the MCMA’s Journalist of the Year.

Brittany Ruess, a student at Webster, received the Photojournalist of the Year plaque.

Adviser of the Year Award went to Dr. Bergland.

You may also read!

Free weekly spiritual column available to newspapers

Missouri Press members have available a new weekly spiritual column to use from a fellow Missouri newspaper operator. The 52-part


Photos from MPAME available

Below are links to photo albums from this year's Missouri Press Advertising Managers and Executives meeting held April 18-19,


Week 15: Sweeping Education Bill Sent to the Governor’s Desk

The following is a legislative update from Clarkston Nelson, LLC concerning the Missouri General Assembly’s spring legislative session. Use


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu