Missouri Press Association elects 2021 officers, directors

In Association News, Breaking News, Bulletin, Events, Missouri Press News On

Missouri Press Association elects 2021 officers, directors

Publisher of Missouri Lawyers Media to succeed Trevor Vernon

Liz Irwin, publisher of Missouri Lawyers Media, which includes Missouri Lawyers Weekly and other publications, was elected president of the Missouri Press Association Thursday, Sept. 24, during the business meeting for the 154th Annual Convention.

While the Convention was canceled earlier this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, MPA members were still able to vote via online form for the 2021 officers and directors of the MPA Board.

A Missouri native and graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, Irwin has been publisher of Missouri Lawyers Media (MLM) since March 2015, taking over for another previous MPA president, Richard Gard. She has served on the MPA Board of Directors since 2016.

Her career has included stints at newspapers in Kentucky and North Carolina and at The Kansas City Star, among others. Currently, in addition to being publisher of Missouri Lawyers Media, she is group publisher and vice president of Creative Services for BridgeTower Media, MLM’s parent company.

Irwin is also member of the Missouri Press-Bar Commission, a group of media professionals, lawyers and judges who work together on a variety of projects to encourage cooperation between the press, the bar and the bench as well as promote a better informed citizenry and a strong First and Sixth Amendments of the U.S. Constitution.

Irwin succeeds Trevor Vernon, publisher of Vernon Publishing, Inc. in Eldon, as MPA president Jan. 1. Vernon will continue with the MPA Board of Directors through 2021 as immediate past president.

Other 2021 MPA officers and directors elected Sept. 24 include: First Vice President, Roger Dillon, Shannon County Current Wave, Eminence; Second Vice President, Beth Durreman, Perry County Republic-Monitor, Perryville; Secretary, Gary Castor, Jefferson City News Tribune; and Treasurer, Ruby Bailey, Columbia Missourian.

Director for a one-year term: Jim Van Nostrand, Columbia Daily Tribune.

Director for a two-year term: Mary King, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview.

Director for three-year terms: Donna Bischoff, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; and Sandy Nelson, Courier-Tribune, Liberty.

Peggy Scott, Jefferson County Leader, Festus, was elected as the National Newspaper Association state chair.

Continuing on the MPA Board in 2021 will be directors: Bryan Jones, Versailles Leader-Statesman; Kevin Jones, St. Louis American, Hannah Spaar, The Odessan, Odessa; and Amos Bridges, Springfield News-Leader.

James White, Benton County Enterprise, Warsaw, is retiring from the MPA Board in December 2020.


You may also read!

mo capitol building

MPA Capitol Report 5/17/2024

MPANewsBook: Statehouse News for MPA Members This report is written by Missouri School of Journalism students for publication by MPA


Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024’s OYJs

Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024's OYJs In recognition of their commitment and excellence, two


Last Week of 2024 Session

The following is a legislative update from Clarkston Nelson, LLC concerning the Missouri General Assembly’s spring legislative session. Use


Mobile Sliding Menu