MPA elects 2018 officers, directors

In Association News, Missouri Press News On
- Updated

Carol Stark, editor of The Joplin Globe, was elected president of the Missouri Press Association Friday, Sept. 29, during the 151st Annual MPA Convention in Springfield.

A southwest Missouri native, Stark has worked for The Globe since 1983, beginning as a reporter and working her way up to editor 10 years ago. She has served on the MPA Board of Directors since 2013.

Her newspaper career began at the age of 12 with an article for The Carthage Press about her final year in a one-room schoolhouse and country school consolidation. She was editor of her high school newspaper, and at 17, she began working full-time for The Carthage Press while attending Missouri Southern State University in Joplin, where she also worked for the college newspaper.

In addition to her editor duties at The Globe, Stark has worked to foster better relationships between the newspaper and its readers, including holding reader advisory sessions. She has also led high school journalism workshops, served as an adviser to students on MSSU’s The Chart, and worked with students on Joplin High School student newspaper, The Spyglass.

Stark was named Local Media Association editor of the year in 2011 for her work overseeing coverage of Joplin’s EF-5 tornado. She has also served three times as a juror in the selection of the Pulitzer Prize.

Stark will succeed Jeff Schrag, publisher of The Daily Events in Springfield, as MPA president Jan. 1. Schrag will continue on the MPA board of directors through 2018 as immediate past president.

Other 2018 MPA officers and directors elected Sept. 29 include: First Vice President, James White, Benton County Enterprise, Warsaw; Second Vice President, Trevor Vernon, Eldon Advertiser; Secretary, Bryan Jones, Versailles Leader-Statesman; Treasurer, Sandy Nelson, The Courier-Tribune, Liberty.

Directors for one-year terms: Roger Dillon, Shannon County Current Wave, Eminence (Paul Berry’s open position); and Julie Moreno, Independence Examiner (Jacob Brower’s open position).

Director for a two-year term: Tianna Brooks, Mountain View Standard News (Trevor Vernon’s open position).

Directors for three-year terms: Mary Wilson, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview; Donna Bischoff, St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

Continuing on the MPA Board in 2018 will be directors Liz Irwin, Missouri Lawyers Media, St. Louis; Michael Jensen, Sikeston Standard-Democrat; and Steve Tinnen, Clinton County Leader, Plattsburg.

Jacob Brower, Monett Times/Cassville Democrat was elected as the National Newspaper Association state chair.

Retiring from the MPA Board in December 2017 are Dennis Ellsworth, St. Joseph News-Press; Dennis Warden, Gasconade County Republican, Owensville; and Jane Haslag, Jefferson City News Tribune.

You may also read!

Gov. Parson signs bills of interest to MPA, newspapers

Gov. Mike Parson recently signed several pieces of legislation that are of interest to Missouri Press Association's member newspapers.


Training Survey! MPA Wants to Know What You Need

MPA is currently working on several training sessions for our members. Please take a few minutes to take this


Missouri Press Association announces 2022 Hall of Fame inductees

Missouri Press Association announces 2022 Hall of Fame inductees Inductees will be honored during MPA's 156th Annual Convention in Lake Ozark. Three


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu