MPA Nominating Committee has finalized a slate of officers, directors for 2024

In Association News, Breaking News, Events, Missouri Press News On
- Updated

The Missouri Press Association Nominating Committee met recently, finalizing a slate of MPA officers and directors for 2024, effective Jan. 1.

The election of MPA officers and directors is scheduled for the annual MPA business meeting Friday, Sept. 22, during the 157th Annual Convention at the Westport Sheraton Chalet Hotel in St. Louis.

Here are the candidates proposed by the nominating committee:

2024 President, Amos Bridges, Springfield News-Leader.

First Vice President, Peggy Scott, Leader Publications, Festus.

Second Vice President, Bryan Chester, Columbia Missourian.

Secretary, Ron Schott, Wright County Journal, Mountain Grove.

Treasurer, Kenneth L Garner, Garner Media Holdings, Maryville.

Director for a two-year term: Mike Scott, NEMOnews Media, Kahoka.

Director for three-year terms: Sandy Nelson, Courier Tribune, Liberty; and Kimberly Combs, Wayne County Journal Banner, Piedmont.

Hannah Spaar, The Odessan, Odessa, is being nominated as the National Newspaper Association state chair.

Continuing on the MPA Board in 2024 will be directors: Gary Castor, Jefferson City News Tribune; Bryan Jones, Morgan County Statesman, Versailles; Kevin Jones, St. Louis American; Tim Schmidt, Montgomery Standard, Montgomery City; and Lucas Presson, Southeast Missourian, Cape Girardeau.

Roger Dillon, Shannon County Current Wave, Eminence; will serve as immediate past president in 2024.

The nominating committee was chaired this year by Roger Dillon, Shannon County Current Wave.

The committee members thank everyone who submitted nominations.


Mark Maassen
Missouri Press Association
(573) 449-4167, ext. 308

You may also read!

mo capitol building

MPA Capitol Report 5/17/2024

MPANewsBook: Statehouse News for MPA Members This report is written by Missouri School of Journalism students for publication by MPA


Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024’s OYJs

Journalists from Lake of the Ozarks, Jefferson City newspapers named 2024's OYJs In recognition of their commitment and excellence, two


Last Week of 2024 Session

The following is a legislative update from Clarkston Nelson, LLC concerning the Missouri General Assembly’s spring legislative session. Use


Mobile Sliding Menu