Recent Journalism Events

In Association News On

On Feb. 12 the Missouri Press Association, Missouri Press Service and Missouri Press Foundation boards held their first meeting of 2014 on at the DoubleTree Hotel in Jefferson City. Among those attending, from the left front clockwise around the table, were: Jack Whitaker, MPA Director, Hannibal; Dennis Warden, MPA Second Vice President, Owensville; Jean Maneke, legal hotline counselor, Kansas City; Jim Robertson, MPA First Vice President, Columbia; Richard Gard, MPA President, St. Louis; Doug Crews, MPA executive director, Columbia; Kristie Williams, MPA member services director, Columbia; Trevor Vernon, MPA Director, Eldon; Bill Miller Sr., MPF Director, Washington; Bill Miller Jr., MPA Director, Washington; Brad Gentry, NNA Representative, Houston; Donna Bischoff, MPA Treasurer, St. Louis; Phil Conger, MPS President, Bethany; Dane Vernon, MPF Director, Eldon; and Joe May, MPS Vice President, Mexico. Others attending were Mark Maassen, MPA Past President, Kansas City; Kevin Jones, MPS Secretary, St. Louis; Jim Sterling, MPF Director, Columbia; Dave Berry, MPF Director, Bolivar; James White, MPA Director, Warsaw; Mark Nienhueser, Missouri Press ad director, Columbia; and Kent Ford, MPA editor, Columbia.  

RJI Local Elections Workshop


Scott Swafford of the Reynolds Journalism Institute at the Missouri School of Journalism led a Jan. 30-Feb. 1 workshop at RJI about how to cover local elections better.


Dave Marner, editor of the Gasconade County Republican in Owensville, focuses on a presenter during one of the sessions.

Among those registered to attend were: Muhammad Akeel Anjum, Daily Kashmir Express; Carol Arnett, The Independent News; Dean Asher, The Fulton Sun; Herb and Lorraine Austin, Schuyler County Times, Queen City; Matthew Barba, Bolivar Herald-Free Press; Jacob Barker, Columbia Daily Tribune;

Tom Barry, The Villager Newspaper; Bethany Bashioum, Cass County Democrat-Missourian, Harrisonville; John Beaudoin, McClatchy Newspapers/Lee’s Summit Journal; Matt Bird-Meyer, University of Central Missouri Digital Burg, Warrensburg; Jill Bock, Standard-Democrat, Sikeston; Toby Carrig, Ste. Genevieve Herald; Emily Coleman, Shaw Media/Northwest Herald; Stephen Collopy, The Anderson Voice; Becky Davis, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview;

Andrew Denney, Columbia Daily Tribune; Marcia Elliott, Elliott Publishing; Kenneth Fleming, Reynolds Journalism Institute; Linda Geist, MU Extension News Group, Columbia; James Gordon, National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting; David Herzog, Missouri School of Journalism; Mindy Honey, Branson Tri-Lakes News; Steve Horrell, Edwardsville Intelligencer; Olivia Ingle, Jefferson City News Tribune; Jodie Jackson, Columbia Daily Tribune;

Debbie Johnson, University of Missouri; Bryan Jones, Vernon Publishing Inc., Versailles Leader-Statesman; Jacob Kirn, St. Louis Business Journal; Amanda Layton, Perry County Republic-Monitor, Perryville; Madeleine Leroux, Jefferson City News Tribune; Elyssa Mann, Fulton Sun; Dave Marner, Gasconade County Republican, Owensville; Catherine Martin, Columbia Daily Tribune; Greg Miller, Fox 26 KNPN; Mat Milner, Ottumwa Courier/CNHI;

Kim Norvell, St. Joseph News-Press; Gregory Orear, Landmark Community Newspapers/Red Oak (Iowa) Express; Allison Prang, University of Missouri; Kenny Ragland, The Savannah Reporter; Mallory Ragon, Lee’s Summit Tribune; Dessa Rodeffer, Hancock-Henderson Quill Inc.; Jess Rollins, Springfield News-Leader; Jessica Salmond, University of Missouri; Matthew Sanders, Columbia Daily Tribune;

James Smith, Centralia Fireside Guard; Machelle Smith, Galena Sentinel-Times; Reuben Stern, Reynolds Journalism Institute Futures Lab; Brian Steffens, Reynolds Journalism Institute; Danedri Thompson, The Gardner News; Aly Van Dyke, The Topeka Capital-Journal; Sharon Vaughn, Summersville Beacon; Kathryn Wall, Springfield News-Leader; Barbara Wallace Hughes, The Messenger; Kay Wilson, Nodaway News Leader, Maryville; Mary Wilson, Jackson County Advocate, Grandview; and Najam us saqib Zia, Roze News TV.


You may also read!

MPA announces 2024 Newspaper Hall of Fame inductees

Missouri Press Association announces 2024 Newspaper Hall of Fame inductees Four inductees will join the Missouri Newspaper Hall of Fame


Resources from SEMO and Show-Me Press Meetings

Below are resources that were shared recently at the Show-Me Press and Southeast Missouri Press regional meetings. 2024 Election Planning For


2024 MIZZOU Football Tickets Trade-Out Deadline is July 31

For the 33rd year, the University of Missouri Athletic Department is working through Missouri Press to arrange a “football-tickets-for-advertising


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu