UMSL student newspaper wins best in state

In Foundation News On

The Current, the student newspaper of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, won the Best In State award for 2008 at the Missouri College Media Association (MCMA) Convention held April 17-18 in St. Louis.

Newspapers that win first place in the four divisions of the Best Overall Newspaper category of the annual contest compete for Best In State. The Current was in Division 1, the largest college newspapers.

Other Best Overall winners were The Northwest Missourian, Northwest Missouri State, Division 2; Talon, Avila University, Division 3; and The Sentry, Crowder College, Division 4 (two-year schools).

Sweeptstakes winners, the papers that won the most award points in the contest, were: Division 1, Student Life, Washington University; Division 2, The Journal, Webster University; Division 3,The Mirror, Drury University; Division 4, The Montage, St. Louis Community College-Meramec.

Twenty-nine colleges and universities entered the competition for material that was published during 2008.
Individuals receiving annual awards were:

• Adviser of the Year: Judi Linville, University of Missouri-St. Louis
• Photojournalist of the Year: Kyle Rivas, William Jewell College
• Journalist of the Year: Derek Simons, University of Missouri-Kansas City

Sarah Hale, a student at Saint Louis University, was the 2008-2009 president of MCMA. She presided at the annual meeting.

Officers elected for 2009-2010 are: President, Nate Taylor, University of Central Missouri; Vice President, Jonathan Ernst, Saint Louis University; Secretary, Lisa Crawford, Missouri Western State University; MPA Liason, Bob Bergland, Missouri Western State University.

A complete list of all of the MCMA Contest winners is at

You may also read!

MPA 2023 Special Bills of Concern

There are several bills of special concern Missouri Press continues to monitor during the General Assembly’s regular session in


2023 Legislative Update – March 10

Spring Break Begins The House spent their week continuing to work swiftly and efficiently through their calendar. Meanwhile, the Senate


Leave a reply:

Mobile Sliding Menu